Thursday, February 15, 2018

Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month

The Family Violence Prevention & Services Act Program’s calendar of events for Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month is now available! Some of the events are copied and pasted below. 

February 12-16
Respect Week
Respect Week is dedicated to raising awareness about healthy relationships and dating abuse. This year, through the theme “Hands Unite: Do Your Part,” loveisrespect will empower young people to build healthy relationships, as well as heal, love and share the power of their hands to create meaningful relationships, raise awareness and educate others.
Download the Respect Week Guide

February 13
National Wear Orange Day 
Wear Orange Day is a national day of awareness where all people are encouraged to wear orange in honor of Teen DV Month. You can wear orange shirts, nail polish, ribbons, jewelry, shoes or anything else you can think of! Tell people why you are wearing orange and post pictures and updates on Instagram and Twitter using the hashtags #Orange4Love #HandsUnite and #RespectWeek2018.
February 13
8pm ET
7pm CT
5pm PT

NativeLove Tweet Circle for Teen DV Month

TWEET CIRCLE Collaborators, NativeLove, StrongHearts Native Helpline, We R Native and That’s Not Cool, will host a Tweet Circle on Twitter to celebrate Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month.
Details forthcoming.
Check NativeLove Twitter for updates and use the hashtag #TDVAM
February 14
9am-11am ET

FVPSA TDVAM and Wear Orange Event
Wear orange and join FVPSA on February 14th from 9am-11am at an information table in the Hubert H. Humphreys Building/U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (Washington, DC) to observe Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month, raise awareness of healthy relationships, and highlight the work that programs are doing across the country to address relationship abuse among teens.

For more information,
February 21
3 pm ET
2 pm CT
12 pm PT
Ask an Advocate – Live Edition
Watch as loveisrespect advocates answer relationship questions in Ask an Advocate—Live Edition. If you have questions you’d like to submit for Teen DV Month 2018, send us your “ask” via FacebookTwitterTumblr and Instagram using Teen DV Month in the title. If you need help or have more questions on how to submit your “ask”, feel free to stop by loveisrespect’s Ask An Advocate page!
® Registered and © Copyright 2012-2015 Young Women of Color Health Advocacy Coalition. All Rights Reserved.